Having a clear grasp of DFARS regulations is the first step to prepare for CMMC certification changes.


Did you know it’s estimated that the typical DoD contractor is only 60% compliant with the cybersecurity requirements that are outlined in DFARS?

DFARS, or the Defense Federal Acquisition Regulation Supplement, was established to help ensure that DoD contractors are implementing effective controls to safeguard sensitive controlled unclassified information (CUI).  

This year, as the DoD continues to roll out the new the Cyber Mature Model Certification (CMMC), it’s even more important that your company has a firm grasp of DFARS requirements. To succeed with CMMC third-party certification, you must build on a solid foundation of DFARS compliance. To get started, you’ll need to grasp the 14 key areas required by the National Institute of Standards and Technology Special Publication 800-171 (NIST SP 800-171), a set of security protocols that contractors must adhere to in order to be DFARS compliant. 

This is where we come in. 

With experience helping firms fortify their IT systems and identify weaknesses, Charles IT understands what you need to know and how to guide you through the complex process of interpreting the standards set by DFARS 

Our guide outlines 5 concrete steps toward DFARS compliance and includes a checklist with 3 steps to discover any potential exposuresRead more to discover answers to essential questions, including: 

Who needs CMMC certification?

What does DFARS compliance encompass? 

How does CMMC certification differ from DFARS compliance?

How does CMMC certification build on DFARS compliance?

Vulernability Scanning@2x

What are the 14 critical security protocols that must be met?


What are 5 best practices that all companies can implement to secure their systems?


How can you evaluate the integrity and security of your IT systems?

Review  Guidelines Breakdown

What is a gap assessment and how can it help you?

Download our eBook to ensure your company understands DFARS. It’s the first stop on the road to successful CMMC certification.